Hummus

IMG_1554

Fresh hummus is to Israel as rain is to the Pacific Northwest, and after spending a year in Jerusalem, I have become even more disenchanted by the store-bought variety.  But last week, in a frantic and impulsive moment in my neighborhood grocery store, I pulled some hummus from a little plastic container out of the refrigerator case and into my cart.  I don’t really know how it got there and could easily spend this entire post writing (ranting) about how much I hate grocery shopping because of how horrible I am at this mundane task.  I never carry a list, want to get out of there as soon as possible, and end up spending forever aimlessly wandering aisles—pretending as if I know how to tell whether a cantaloupe is ripe and searching for milk with the furthest expiration date. And don’t even get me started about those self-checkout stations…yikes.

But, I survived my experience at the store. Forgot the milk, resisted the Juanita chips, and somehow made it through past the cashier and into my apartment with some offshoot of hummus (you know, red pepper, extra garlic, or olive) still with me.   I open it up, spread it on a cracker, take a bite, and am immediately reminded of why I never buy pre-made hummus.  The flavors don’t taste like chickpeas, the packages are small and overpriced, and mostly, it’s just so easy to make yourself.

I usually have a can of garbanzo beans (are those different than chickpeas? Someone please enlighten me), a lemon, tahini, plenty of garlic, and olive oil on hand in my kitchen at all times.  That’s enough to make your own hummus and eat it too!  After I finished the store-bought stuff, I went back to my trusty DIY way.  This recipe is how I make hummus but I think roasting the garlic and or garbanzos before adds a nice flavor if you want to spend more than five minutes making this version.

Hummus:

1 can garbanzo beans, drained

1 lemon

2 garlic cloves

3 tablespoons tahini

pinch of salt

olive oil for garnish (optional)

First pulse the garlic in food processor.  Then add the garbanzo beans/chickpeas, juice of one lemon, the tahini, and salt to taste. Blend together until smooth. Pour into your favorite bowl and drizzle with olive oil if desired.

6 responses to “Hummus

  1. Amazingly enough, I was listening to “America’s Test Kitchen ” in the car just today, and there was a long segment about hummus…a caller from Seattle complaining that her homemade hummus did NOT match the store bought varieties. The experts all argued for roasted chick peas.

Leave a Reply

